Blog Introduction. Welcome!

Hello and welcome to my blog!

My name is Joe and this will be my official blog for all my insights and experiences for my Peace Corps service in Ethiopia departing in June 2017! The title, “Haya Sebat” is Amharic for “27,” signifying the 27 month commitment I will be making to teaching English in Ethiopia.

The story of how I stumbled upon applying for the Peace Corps was many months in the making.  As a recent college graduate looking to pursue a career in teaching history in a secondary school setting, it dawned on me how difficult it actually was to find a job in my desired field. I have always felt the need to “hit the ground running” in each goal I pursue but it was just not happening fast enough for me and I began to feel anxious. After talking to friends and family about my options for the future, I took an option that not many people were thinking of and applied for the Peace Corps.  I knew this program would offer a lot for me in the short term and in my future afterwards.  It made sense to choose a program where I know my skills will be challenged and can work to make a positive impact. I was so glad to hear back so soon and was even accepted much earlier than the know-by date.  This will be one of my greatest challenges yet and I am so excited to take part in this to teach and learn in an environment I was not even thinking about a year ago.

I hope my blog will appeal to people who love to travel, are interested in learning about the culture of places they have never been to, and be an inspiration to people who want to make a change in their life but feel stuck in the “nest” they have created for themselves.  I am fortunate to not have many commitments at home, and can imagine how people my age, who may be further ahead in starting their lives, may be afraid to side-step away from that to do something genuinely good for themselves and other people. My current plan is to post weekly and in “segments” to keep material fresh, and intend to travel to many places during my service and plan on blogging those experiences along with the updates on my work.  My frequency of posting will depend on my access to Internet. Current ideas include:

  • Community Member Profiles
  • Life at Site
  • “Photo Friday” or some other way to post photos I take
  • How To’s
  • Recipes
  • Amharic word/phrases
  • And hopefully more!

 

Thank you! በጣም አመሰግናለሁን

Leave a Reply

